Review: The Sweet Spot Becomes Downtown Johnstown’s Favorite Diner Cafe

Downtown Johnstown Pennsylvania is changing. Not only in the loss of Rite-Aid, Ideal Market, and the Cambria County Assistance office — three anchor businesses for downtown — but in the coming major renovations to Central Park (never to be confused with Manhattan’s Central Park) and the massive closings of established businesses bringing in new businesses.

The entire time I’ve lived in Johnstown, there has been some sort of restaurant at 145 Franklin street – that’s the business next door to the original downtown location for Rite Aid pharmacy before they moved to Vine/Market street. Over the years, that space was usually occupied by some sort of pizzeria. No longer. The Sweet Spot is now open there and from what I can see, has become the hottest and most popular place to eat downtown, especially if you are not looking for a formal, three to six course meal such as you get elsewhere downtown.

On 16 March 2024 I went with a neighbor to the Sweet Spot for lunch, arriving around 1045 – 1100 am. In the past (but not that day) they posted what must be an abridged menu in their window – information central to our decision to check them out.

I came for the swiss cheese mushroom burger, a comfort food of sorts because I ate them regularly back in Lincoln, Nebraska at the Runza locations across the city. Key to my assessment: are their swiss cheese mushroom burgers as good as the ones at Runza?

The menu above the ordering counter is minimal — both in listing what they offer and the prices. I had to ask a lot of questions and did not know they offered what is apparently their specialty selection of drinks, let alone the prices. For example, I was interested in ice cream and desserts with my burger – but none were on the board above me and there were no take out menus I could see. Only three or four side dishes were listed, all of them over $3.00. Next to the main counter is a refrigerator with some bottled/boxed beverages like 20 oz Pepsi, Mug root beer, boxed single serving tea and lemonade. No prices listed of course. Very minimal setup as far as I could see.

Fortunately the seating area and staff are many times better. Despite the small space, there are ample tables and sturdy chairs with ketchup and napkins on each table. Around half a dozen in total. On the opposite wall from where we were sitting is a framed t-shirt with a note that we can buy our own for around $25.00. Minimal, but at least comfortable – unlike the famous “Our Sons” restaurant on Broad street in Cambria City with its booths so tight and tightly packed you almost have to be a fashion model or a child to sit in them.

After a few questions i placed my order. The swiss cheese mushroom burger normally has onions; I informed them about my allergy which was very helpful to them. They said it was good that I came so early because mine was the first burger of the day and nothing in the kitchen had touched onions yet. A very positive quality about The Sweet Spot is precisely how much they care about food allergies. There’s a sign right in front of the cash register with allergy information. Top marks to them for caring.

In addition to the burger – which is very high quality meat – the swiss cheese mushroom burger is served on a quality, mid-sized bun. I wasn’t measuring it, but it’s roughly the size of a standard McDonalds burger. But the bread is much higher quality than McDonalds. Fresh mushrooms – not canned like most places – are cooked and layered over the swiss cheese. Upon that is a special sauce they make with their own blend of spices. “Smash sauce” I think they call it, but don’t quote me on that. If you want just one beef patty, the price is $6.99 plus tax and tip.

Yes tip, because after you place the order at the counter, they bring the food to you and offer exceptional table service. Most people I saw receive this table service are not tipping – but I did. This is not some hurried chain restaurant where they want to get you out the door fast, but a small business that is eager to please. I had at least 3 of the 5 staff members I saw come to my table to provide the best possible experience – much better service than at Eat’n Park and really any other formal restaurants where tips are more obviously expected. And no, they didn’t know I’m a writer! Let alone a writer who regularly leaves reviews online. There was genuine concern for both my health (food allergies!) and satisfaction. When I asked about some ketchup and mustard (the Smash Sauce doesn’t satisfy my taste) they were happy to oblige. If anything they served too much mustard and would do better to offer it in a squeeze bottle like the ketchup. 90% of what they served went into the trash – against my environmental sensibilities.

Meanwhile, as I ate, I found the place very busy, especially with takeout orders for custom made drinks. Drinks seem to be what The Sweet Spot is known for, despite the lack of signage about them. In the 30 minutes or so it took for me and my neighbor to eat our meals – he got the breakfast platter of ham, fried eggs, and toast – there were at least a dozen people coming in and out for custom drinks. Bubble tea? I couldn’t tell beyond looking up their website that they are known for them.

The Sweet Spot is a very busy little diner-cafe! A neighbor who works as a dog walker was also there and they were absolutely fine with the dog sitting there while she ate her meal. Count them a dog-friendly restaurant!

Overall, the quality of my burger was very high. After tip, it cost me over $8 – compared to the $2-$3 with McDonalds. Hence the value for the money has to be weighed according to your personal values. I wanted fries too – but at $4 for a serving of unknown size, I simply could not afford the money. Excluding the whole carb considerations that go with any level of diabetes.

This is definitely a quality establishment. The staff are friendly and eager to please. They want your business and will do anything to make you a regular customer.

Now if only they would post their full menu – somewhere! The full menu is not online, not displayed in the restaurant, and there’s no take away menus either to browse. In this they most need to improve. I’m not a regular and I don’t know what they have to offer, let alone how much each item costs. For me, as a patron, that information is essential. Likewise, they do not post their business hours – critical information.

For all of that, The Sweet Spot really is the hottest eating establishment in Johnstown, especially downtown. If you are coming to the area and want a great dining experience – especially if you are willing to spend extra for quality food – definitely come and give them a try! They are less posh than the Harrigan’s restaurant attached to the Holiday Inn Express and really do aim to please you when you walk in the door.

Come visit them at 145 Franklin street, across the street from Johnstown’s Central Park and close to Franklin/Main street.

Related restaurant reviews:

Sweet Spot update

Eat’n Park

Main Street Pizzeria

2 thoughts on “Review: The Sweet Spot Becomes Downtown Johnstown’s Favorite Diner Cafe

Leave a comment