Meet My Main Character Blog Tour — June 2014

A few weeks ago Alexandra Butcher  invited  me  to be involved with the Meet My Character Blog Tour. Basically she posts and tags several people and they tag others they know and so on. We discuss our own writing processes and pass the baton.

Artist concept of what Boudicca might have looked like.

Artist concept of what Boudicca might have looked like.

1) What is the name of your character? Is he/she fictional or a historic person? My name is Boudicca, Queen of the Iceni. I was born among the Aedui tribe in Gaul of royal blood before escaping Roman slavery and crossing the strait to Britannia.  I was one of the greatest heroines of the ancient world. 2) When and where is the story set? My story begins with my meeting of King Prasutagus of the Iceni in the city of Camulodunum (renamed “Chester” in the centuries since my death) which was originally the capital of the Trinovante tribe in Britannia.  I lived in the 1st century of the Common Era by Roman reckoning, dying in 61 CE after the Roman Governor Gaius Suetonius Paullinus led my army of one hundred thousand Britons into a trap. After escaping slavery in my native Gaul, I came to live among the Iceni in the lands later called Norfolk and Suffolk.  Our particular village nestled closely to the great sea dividing Britannia from the Germanic lands to the northeast and southeast. 3) What should we know about him/her? I was born of royal lineage in Gaul.  I come from the Aedui tribe which originally gained a measure of independence from Rome, making bargains with them that we assumed the Romans would uphold.  They did not; though we were allies, we found ourselves enslaved.  I was therefore born into slavery.  When I escaped with the help of my mistress’s son, a nephew of Governor Gaius Suetonius Paullinus, the young man raped me after I refused to have sex with him in exchange for his help reaching Dover.  These experiences taught me the true nature of Roman society and Roman philosophy towards women and non-Romans which I tried to convey to King Prasutagus of the Iceni. Boudicca:  Britain's Queen of the Iceni4) What is the main conflict? What messes up his/her life? As a Gallic Celt born into slavery, my life before marrying King Prasutagus was obviously filled with sorrow and pain.  I learned to see through Roman lies.  But my beloved husband was unwilling to defer to my experience, convincing himself that only an alliance with Rome would preserve Iceni independence.  Upon his death, my worst fears were realized.  In a Roman raid on our village designed to secure the kingdom for Nero, both my daughters were raped, I was flogged, and most of our people were killed, enslaved, or lost everything in the Roman-set fires.  Can it be any wonder then that I used my power as queen to strike back, to fight for liberty? 5) What is the personal goal of the character? To free Britannia from Roman slavery and assert our Celtic values of individual freedom, gender equality, and equality among the different ranks of our society.

The audio edition of Boudicca:  Britain's Queen of the Iceni by Laurel A. Rockefeller and narrated by Richard Mann

The audio edition of Boudicca: Britain’s Queen of the Iceni by Laurel A. Rockefeller and narrated by Richard Mann

One of the most talented actors in the United Kingdom is Richard Mann

One of the most talented actors in the United Kingdom is Richard Mann

6) Is there a working title for this novel, and can we read more about it? The novella is called Boudicca:  Britain’s Queen of the Iceni.  It was published on March 20th, 2014 with an audio edition narrated by UK actor Richard Mann in production right now and with an expected release date in September.

 

 

 

 

I tag:  Alexandra Butcher

 

Alexandra Butcher is the British author of the Light Beyond the Storm Chronicles series and several short stories in the fantasy and fantasy romance genre.  She is an avid reader and creator of worlds, a poet and a dreamer. When she is grounded in the real world she likes science, natural history, history and monkeys.

 

 

 

Blog: http://libraryoferana.wordpress.com/

 

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/6430414.A_L_Butcher

 

 

 

Twitter:@libraryoferana

 

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/DarkFantasyBeyondTheStorm

 

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Alexandra-Butcher/e/B008BQFCC6

 

 

3 thoughts on “Meet My Main Character Blog Tour — June 2014

  1. Pingback: Meet My Character Blog Tour | Library of Erana

Leave a Reply

