Recipe: Sweet/sour Asian chicken kabobs with Rice

Hello everyone.  I normally do not blog here about food, but this recipe I created today I absolutely MUST SHARE!

 

I do not consider myself a great cook, at least not to MY taste in food. True to general hyper-sensitivity and migraine sufferers as a whole, I have a sensitive, refined sense of taste; anything too bland or too strong does not taste good to me.

 

So I am so happy that today I had great success making some Asian chicken kabobs in my grill pan.   Here’s my recipe:

 

  • Cube a chicken breast and marinate in about 2 tablespoons of bottled sweet/sour sauce, about 1 tsp of Chinese chili/pepper sauce, 1/2 tsp powdered ginger, 1/2 tsp of dill, and water to cover.
  • Refrigerate about 2 to 3 hours.
  • Skewer the chicken and put in grill pan along with all of the marinade.
  • Dust gently with more dill.
  • While the chicken and marinade cooks in the grill pan (turning occasionally), cook 1/4 to 1/2 cup of rice with about 1 tablespoon of soy sauce added instead of salt in the water.
  • Cook until chicken is well done and the sauce thickens.
  • Drain rice and spread evenly onto serving plate.
  • Spoon about half of the sauce directly onto the rice before plating the kabobs over the rice and evenly pouring the rest of the sauce over the chicken.
  • Garnish with more dill if desired.

Makes one serving.

This was ABSOLUTELY DELICIOUS with a subtle taste and just enough pepper to give it that distinctly ASIAN taste.

Serve with white or rose wine or a clear colored soda.

Leave a Reply

