Author Interview Janna Yeshanova*

Historical romance by Janna Yeshanova

Historical romance by Janna Yeshanova

Today we have historical fiction author Janna Yeshanova here to talk about her latest book, “Love is Never Past Tense.”

PoB:  Love is Never Past  appears to be a historical romance.  Can you set the scene for us historically?  When does it happen and where?  What is happening back then in that part of the world?

JY: At the end of the Cold War, the Soviet Union collapsed and the nations that resulted suffered waves of ethnic violence and black market crime. Many people in positions of comparative privilege found their lives and livelihoods in ruins. Love Is Never Past Tense…  starts several years before and follows my lead characters through personal challenges and then the turmoil caused by world-shaping events.

PoB:  What genre do you feel best describes this book and why?

JY: Historical Romance is accurate but a bit misleading. I focus on the lives of my characters. The history shows up in some of the choices they make, where big events reshape otherwise ordinary lives. I draw on my own life enough that the book might best be classified as an epic historical romance based on a true story.

PoB:  What formats do you offer this book in and why?

JY: I offer it in hardcover, paperback, and most electronic formats, including Kindle, Nook, iBook and PDF. I want to offer it any way the reader wants to get it but have not done audio versions yet. If hard copies are ordered from www.loveisneverpasttense.com I am happy to sign them.

PoB:  What do you feel makes this book different from other books?

JY: As I said earlier, the book is based on a true story. The characters are real people. Some of the people participating in the plot told me that they are emotionally and vividly reliving the events in which they participated.

PoB:  What is it about you as a person that makes your book compelling to read?

JY: I am a person who lived through the events described in the book. I am a survivor. If I fall, I get back on my feet and face another day, hoping for the best, creating another situation that can lead to the place I want to be. I focus on my goals and try not to pay much attention to obstacles. With my Russian background, I see the glass half full (with Vodka). 🙂  

*Opinions expressed in author interviews belong exclusively to the authors featured and do not represent the viewpoints of the Peers of Beinan series, author Laurel A. Rockefeller, or any other related entity.  Presented interviews do not constitute endorsement of any product, service, or point of view.  Readers are encouraged to form their own opinions concerning presented content herein.

Leave a Reply

